NCWC Background.

The Royal Government of Bhutan established the National Commission for Women and Children (NCWC) in 2004 as the national machinery to take the lead in promoting and protecting the rights of women and children in the country. In 2008, given the rising number of issues and the Commission’s increasing responsibilities, the Commission was upgraded to a fully autonomous agency under the Royal Government of Bhutan.

The NCWC is governed by a Commission comprising of a Chairperson (Cabinet Minister) and high level officials from relevant government, non-government and the private sector. The NCWC Secretariat is headed by the Director, under whom there are four main Divisions/Services: the Children Division; the Women Division; the Legal Services; and the Secretariat Services. The key focus of the NCWC is to establish a sustainable and comprehensive system to mainstream, protect and promote the rights of women and children in Bhutan.

Vision,Mission and Objectives.

A happy nation where children, women & men live in harmony with equality and respect in all spheres of life.
Mission:
  • To protect and promote the rights of women through gender-responsive interventions.
  • To protect and promote rights of children through child-responsive interventions.
Objective:
  • To review, reform, initiate and support policies, plans, projects and activities from a gender equality perspective.
  • To review, reform, initiate and support policies, plans, projects and activities from children sensitive perspective

Core Values:

WECARE

  • W- Well being
  • E- Empathy
  • C- Commitment
  • A- Adaptability
  • R- Respect
  • E- Equality
Functions:
  • Review and formulate gender responsive and child sensitive policies.
  • Advocate for gender equality and child sensitive Legislations, Policies and Plans.
  • Create awareness, and sensitization for all stakeholders.
  • Coordinate and Partner with stakeholders on issues pertaining to women and children.
  • Coordinate the preparation and submission of reports at the national, regional and international levels (CRC, CEDAW, UPR, SAARC Conventions, etc).
  • Monitor and Evaluate of all activities pertaining to issues related to women and children.
  • Mobilize of Resources for NCWC, collaborating partners and relevant implementing NGOs.
  • Develop, propose and support Gender Responsive and Children sensitive programs and activities and Build and strengthen the capacities of Gender Focal Point.
Organogram
Hon'ble Commission Members

Sl No.NameDesignation
Chair Person
1Hon'ble Lyonpo Tandi DorjiMinister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Vice Chair Person
2Hon’ble Lyonpo Dechen WangmoMinister, Ministry of Health
Members
3Dasho Karma YeshiSecretary, Ministry of Education
4Dasho Dr. Pandup Tshering Secretary, Ministry of Health
5Dasho Karma Tsering NamgyelSecretary, Dratshang Lhentshog
6Dasho Palden WangmoDrangpon, Family and Child Bench
7Aum Chime P WangdiSecretary General, Tarayana
8Aum Deki ChodenPrincipal, ELC High School
9Major Karma Rigzin SP, Women and Child Protection Division, RBP Thimphu
10Ms. Choing DolmaProgram Officer, Office of the Gyalpoi Zimpon
11Dasho Karma DrukpaMember Secretary/Director General, NCWC
NCWC Staff

Name 

Designation

Email ID

Dasho Karma Drukpa

Director General

kdrukpa@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms.Yoezer Lhamo

PA to DG

ylhamo@ncwc.gov.bt

Dr.Sonam Chuki

Program Analyst 

schuki@ncwc.gov.bt

Women Division

Ms. Ugyen Tshomo

CPO

ugyentshomo@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Sonam Gyeltshen

Dy.Chief

PO 

sgyeltshen@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Tshewang Lhamo

Sr.Program  Officer

tlhamo@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms.Deki Yangzom

Program Officer

dyangzom@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Sonam Lhamo

Project Officer, GBV Pilot

sonamlhamo1988@gmail.com

Children Division           

Ms. Yeshey Lham

CPO

ylham@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms.Wangchuk Zangmo

Sr.PO

wangchukz@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr. Ugyen Wangchuk

Sr.PO

uwangchuk@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr. Kinley Dorji

Sr.PO

kinleydorji@ncwc.gov.bt

Protection Services

Ms.Yeshey Lham

Dy. Chief Counselor

yesheyl@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Tashi Dorji    

Counselor

tdorji@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Chador Dema

Counselor

chadord15@gmail.com

Ms.Priya Ghalley

APO


pghalley@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Karma Dorji

APO,PS

kdorji@ncwc.gov.bt

Sonam Yangchen

Counselor

yangchaysonam@gmail.com

Pema Yangdon

APO

pyangdon@ncwc.gov.bt

Legal Services

Ms. Ugyen Tshomo

Dy. Chief .Legal Officer

utshomo@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Chencho Pemo

Legal Officer

cpemo@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr. Lham Dorji

Legal Assistant

ldorji@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr. Leki Dorji

Legal Assistant

lekid@ncwc.gov.bt

Secretariat Services

Mr.Jigme Dorji

Procurement

jdorji@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Sangay Wangmo

Dy.CAO

swangmo@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Ugyen Choden

Accounts

uchoden@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms. Tshering Choden

HRO


tchoden@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Namgay Tshering 

Sr.ICT  Officer

ntshering@ncwc.gov.bt


Ms.Shera

Adm.Asst

shera@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms.Passang Lham

Dispatcher

plham@ncwc.gov.bt

Ms.Pema Choki

PABX

pchoki@ncwc.gov.bt

Mr.Ugyen Phuntsho

Driver


Mr.Chenga Dawa

Driver

cdawa780@gmail.com

Ms.Krisna

Sweeper


© 2021 National Commission for Women and Children.
Royal Government of Bhutan
Telephone #: +975 - 2 - 334549 / 334553
Toll Free Help Line #: 1098
Fax #: +975 - 2 - 334709
website: www.ncwc.gov.bt
Home
Disclaimer
About Us
Divisions
Publications/References
Partner Organizations
SiteMap
 Facebook
  Youtube
CMIS
GEMS